Skip to content

Staff, Board and Career Opportunities

Working in the cemetery’s historic 1899 Bell Tower, the Historic Oakland Foundation staff works collaboratively and closely with the City of Atlanta to fulfill the organization’s mission of preserving, restoring, enhancing, and sharing historic Oakland Cemetery. We are a small team of goal-oriented, highly-motivated professionals with a passion for Atlanta, history, preservation, and placemaking.

Our dedicated staff includes both part-time and full-time employees who work in a wide range of specialties. Our departments include Development, Education, Gardens, Marketing, Preservation & Restoration, Private Events, Operations, Special Events, and the Visitors Center & Museum Shop.

Historic Oakland Foundation (HOF) was established in 1976 and is a nonprofit organization.

For burials, filming, or permitting, contact Sexton Sam Reed: 404-658-6019.

Our Staff

Aeron Attwooll

Sustainable Gardens Specialist

Melissa Bauer

Senior Director of Development

Charvis Buckholts

Director of Education and Youth Programs

Sean Diaz

Operations Manager

Erica Glasener

Gardens Volunteer Manager

Richard Harker

Executive Director

Lilly Heidari

Grants & Development Manager

Monica Izaguirre

Administrative Coordinator

Abra Lee

Director of Horticulture

Madelyn Livingston

Marketing Coordinator

Neale Nickels

Senior Director of Capital Projects

Makeda Phillips

Programming Coordinator

Janna Rhoden

Gardens Technician

Emily Ruff

Senior Director of Finance & Administration

Ashley Shares

Director of Preservation

Butch Teal

Gardens Curation and Nursery Manager

Jessica VanLanduyt

Senior Director of Experiences and Engagement

Michael Wettlaufer

Preservation Technician

Sandy White

Director of Adult Programs and Volunteers

Tim Wright

Visitor Center and Museum Store Manager

Angie Wynne

Director of Communications and Marketing

Our Board

Kavin Manickaraj

Sweta Gurnani

Aaron Topol

Executive Committee

 May B. Hollis

Christopher Leerssen

Glen Manjos

Steve Paro


Thomas E. Aderhold
Bruce Barfield
C. Duncan Beard
Rabbi Peter Berg
Sofia Bork
Sara Chapman
Charlotte Christian

H. Alan Elsas
Susan Evins
Greg Farr
Hank Gurley
Megan Hodgkiss
Dr. Kevin James
Nancy James
Donovan Johnson

Bem Joiner
Barrett Coker Krise
Christopher Leerssen
Glen Manjos
Samantha McDonald
Steve Paro
Suzi Sheffield

Career Opportunities

Back To Top